Reminders: Manuscript prize, and Andy Jackson book launch

Three days. That’s how long poets have left to send their entries into the Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize for 2014.

We accept entries postmarked up to and including the deadline of Friday 29 August. We’ve already received a huge number of submissions this year, and look forward to being flooded in the final days.

Click here for guidelines and entry form.

And a reminder that the launch of the thin bridge, written by last year’s prize winner, Andy Jackson, is just a week later:

Collected Works bookshop
First Floor, Nicholas Building, 37 Swanston Street, Melbourne
Friday 5 September, 6pm for 6.30 start

Renowned poet and professor in Creative Writing at the University of Melbourne, Kevin Brophy, will do the launch honours. If you’re in Melbourne, we hope to see you there!



Whitmore titles on sale

We’ve reduced prices on all of our back catalogue. We’ve books by some of the finest new, and established, poets currently writing in Australia. And to make ordering easier, we’ve entered the 21st century and you can now quickly order and pay online.

What’s more, postage in Australia is FREE.

Treat yourself to some of the best. Head to our titles page, click the ‘Add to Cart’ buttons and fill the shopping trolley!

Launch of new Andy Jackson collection – Melbourne 5 September

Whitmore Press is thrilled to announce that Andy Jackson’s latest poetry collection, the thin bridge, will be launched in Melbourne by Kevin Brophy. The details:

Collected Works bookshop
First Floor, Nicholas Building, 37 Swanston Street, Melbourne
Friday 5 September, 6pm for 6.30 start
Launch by Professor Kevin Brophy – poet, author and academic

Andy Jackson cover high res

Andy was the winner of the 2013 Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize. We hope you can make it. All welcome!

Can’t make the launch? Order a copy of Andy’s collection – a signed and numbered limited edition chapbook with flyleaf, superbly printed on watermarked paper, just 200 copies.

Preview Image

Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize 2014 – now open!

The Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize 2014 is now open for submissions.

The prize, for publication of a fine, limited edition poetry chapbook of work by the winning entrant, is open to all Australian poets – new, emerging and established.

Previous winners of the manuscript prize are Jamie King-Holden (2010), B.R. Dionysius and Jo Langdon (2011), Lucy Todd (2012), and Andy Jackson (2013). Andy Jackson’s the thin bridge will be published in September 2014.

There are no restrictions in terms of subject matter or form. Entrants are encouraged to read the collections of previous winners to get an idea of the kinds of work that have achieved success to date.

Order a title by a previous winner – in some cases, we have just a few copies left.

The deadline is 29 August. Early submissions are encouraged.

Click here for guidelines and entry form.

We look forward to reading your entry!

World Poetry Day reading

On 21 March 2014, World Poetry Day, the Geelong Regional Library Corporation hosted a reading by poets from the Geelong region who were represented in Black Inc.’s Best Australian Poems 2013 – the fourth year the library has run such an event on World Poetry Day. The reading at the Waurn Ponds library was MC’d by Whitmore Press publisher Anthony Lynch, and poets from the press were strongly represented.

Photo: Reg Ryan

Photo: Reg Ryan


From left to right: Anthony Lynch, Maria Takolander, Jo Langdon, David McCooey, Brendan Ryan, Amanda Frances Johnson, Diane Fahey and Cameron Lowe.

Andy Jackson wins Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize 2013

We’re delighted to announce that Andy Jackson has taken out the Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize for 2013.

Andy’s poems, filled with pathos in their exploration of identity and their startling images of human and animal bodies, will make for an enthralling collection – one that will be published by Whitmore Press in 2014.

Our thanks again to all who entered – we’re sure we’ll see many other excellent submissions find their way into print or onto screen in the near future.

Launch speech and review for Lucy Todd collection

Lucy Todd’s Listening to the Mopokes Go was launched to a packed audience at The Alderman in Brunswick East in August. Cassandra Atherton, who launched Lucy’s collection with her customary eloquence and pizzazz, has kindly provided her launch speech for the Whitmore Press website. You can read Cassandra’s launch here.

Amy Brown recently wrote a brilliant review of Lucy’s book for Cordite. You can read the review at:

If after reading the above you’d like a copy of Listening to the Mopokes Go, you can get one here.