Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize – an update

The Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize has, for the present, been put on hold. We would have loved to continue with the prize for the seventh year straight, but other work commitments have left us little choice but to put the prize in abeyance. We hope to reignite it within a year or two. Thank you to all those who made enquiries regarding the prize for 2016.

Previous winners of the manuscript prize are Jamie King-Holden (2010), B.R. Dionysius and Jo Langdon (2011), Lucy Todd (2012), Andy Jackson (2013), Tracy Ryan and Jill Jones (2014), and Carmen Leigh Keates (2015).

The good news is that the press will continue to publish poetry, with the next scheduled publication being a collection based on Carmen’s winning 2015 entry, due to appear in November 2016.


Reprint of Andy Jackson’s ‘the thin bridge’

We’ve been remiss in not getting word of this out earlier, but following the original 200 copies of Andy Jackson’s the thin bridge selling out in just over 12 months, we’ve made a special reprint of 50 copies.

The idea with limited editions is that they do, of course, sell out. But with demand still strong for Andy’s book, for the first time ever we’ve had a small reprint (50 copies). Given these aren’t part of the original limited edition, the reprint copies are unnumbered, but they are all signed by Andy, and are all printed on the same beautiful laid cream, watermarked stock with endpapers.

You can order the thin bridge online from our titles page, or buy directly from Andy if you can make it to one of his readings – which we highly recommend attending.

the thin bridge reprints

WP Manuscript Prize 2015 – winner announced!

Following much anguish (and a delay for which we thank everyone for their patience), we are very pleased to announce that the winner of the Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize for 2015 is Carmen Leigh Keates.

We were impressed with the imaginative explorations of Carmen’s poems set in northern Europe – poems in which ancient ruins and contemporary museum alike are part of a disturbing yet subtly lyrical personal archaeology of place and space. Congratulations Carmen!

A collection of Carmen’s poems will be published by Whitmore Press in the second half of 2016.

We again thank all who submitted to this year’s prize, and in particular congratulate those who reached the shortlist and made our final decision an engrossingly difficult one.

WP Manuscript Prize 2015 – shortlist!

After much deliberation, here, in alphabetical order, are the shortlisted poets in this year’s Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize:

Broede Carmody
Steve Evans
Adam Ford
Rachael Wenona Guy
Carmen Leigh Keates
Carolyn Leach-Paholski
Ray Liversidge
Roberta Lowing
Juliana Qian (Lia Incognita)
Jane Williams

As ever, our thanks to all who entered. Many other good works from good poets didn’t make the list, but we hope they make someone else’s list in the very near future.

We also know that, due to various work commitments, we took longer than usual this year to reach this point, so we thank everyone very much for their forbearance. We’ll try to reach the point of announcing a winner much more quickly.


Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize 2015 entries

Thanks to everyone who, in 2015, entered our annual manuscript prize. As in previous years, we received over 100 entries (104, to be exact) from all around Australia.

We’ll announce the shortlist for the prize within the next week, and the winner by the end of the month.


Launch of Jill Jones collection – Saturday 21 November

Whitmore Press is thrilled to announce that Jill Jones’s latest poetry collection, Breaking the Days, will be launched in Melbourne by Alison Croggon. The details:

The Alderman, upstairs
134 Lygon Street, Brunswick East
Saturday 21 November, 2.30–4.30pm
Launch by Alison Croggon – renowned poet, critic, playwright, novelist, librettist

Jill Jones Breaking the Days high res

Jill was the co-winner, with Tracy Ryan, of the 2014 Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize. Among many other awards, earlier this year Jill won the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award 2015 for poetry.

We hope you can make on the 21st. Everyone welcome.